Shameless Self-Promotion: The Edublog Award

Shameless Self-Promotion

Thanks to Chris Lehman, who along with Kate Roberts wrote Falling in Love with Close Reading, To Make a Prairie is a finalist for the this year’s Edublog Award in the best blog by an individual category. Voting takes place between now and December 18, and all you need to do to vote is to go to the Edublog page for Individual Blogs, scroll down till you find To Make a Prairie and then click on the Vote Up icon. (FYI: You will be asked to join Listly to vote, but that doesn’t seem like a big deal.)

As I posted on Facebook yesterday, soliciting votes has made me feel like I’m running for middle school student council, trying to drum up votes for what seems to be a popularity contest. But I do think the readers of this blog represent an incredibly vital group of educators whose voices don’t always manage to get heard in a world that too often values data collection over best practice instruction and formative assessments over listening to students and responding to their needs. So I like to think that a vote for this blog is a vote for all those teachers out there who are constantly thinking and reflecting as part of their deeply held belief that to be a teacher is, above all else, to be a life-long learner.

Edublog Awards 2013Know, though, that you’re completely forgiven if, once at the website, you decide to vote for Diane Ravitch or Chris Lehman instead, both of whom are also up for their individual blogs. And while you’re at the Edublog Award site, take a few minutes to look at the other categories where you’ll find, for instance, The Nerdy Book Club up for the Best Group Blog and Kate Roberts’s lovely post “A Day in the Life of a Close Reader,” in the Most In Influential Post of the Year category, which also includes other powerful posts about the state of the teaching profession that offer much food for thought.

Of course, as a friend on Facebook asked, I can’t promise to put a soda vending machine in the cafeteria or arrange for more school dances, but I can promise to keep on thinking and reflecting and sharing those thoughts here, beginning with some final thoughts on this year’s NCTE convention, which will be up later this week. Till then . . . .

vote_banner

6 thoughts on “Shameless Self-Promotion: The Edublog Award

  1. Hello Vicki
    Thanks for each and every post on your blog. ‘To Make a Prairie’ has been a catalyst in the change of my thinking and in my daily teaching. During each reading activity, I stand back and think, are these students problem-solving? If not, time to re-jig, Brette!
    Hey, and because of the blog, I now have a swag of online mates through #wrrdchat.
    Cheers
    Brette

    • Hello Brette! So good to know you’re still out there and so glad to know how all this blogging is affecting you & your students! I’m working on an NCTE proposal with some of those online #wrrd mates (and Steve Peterson) who I know you’re in touch with as well. So if there’s any chance in the world of you coming to DC next November, you might be able to meet some of us face to face, which would be sublime!

  2. Hey, Vicki.
    I agree with Brette. Your work via book(s) and blog have made a daily difference in the way I teach!

    I’m fortunate to be teaching at a time when there are so many wonderful thinkers sharing their journeys so openly. I’m very happy to have stumbled upon yours. With each post it seems as if you have explored the questions I’m forming in my mind, and have anticipated the ones I don’t yet know I have. Many thanks for your efforts.

    • Thanks as always, Steve. It’s been such an amazingly rewarding thing to connect with folks like you & Brette. And I’m so, so very excited at the prospect of sharing some of these journeys at NCTE year!

  3. Vicki,
    I agree with Steve and Brette. My outlook on teaching has changed because of your blog and book. Your words keep me accountable to student thinking and ownership of their learning. It makes sure I set students up and get out of their way. It reminds me to give them time and space to process. It assures me that (student and my) learning takes doing, stumbling and testing. It stops me from jumping in and telling students the thinking I want them to “get.” It tells me to listen.

    Reading your weekly posts and the responses of the community of insightful teachers who have found this blog, keeps me rethinking and “re-jigging” (love “hearing” Brette’s voice) my work. It is a great time to be teaching. We can sit at home in front of our computers, listen and grow with all who gather around your posts. Thank you for all you give.

    • Having been in too many schools full of down-trodden teachers this month, it’s so refreshing to hear you say that it’s a great time to be teaching. Feels like I need to invite them all to join online communities because I do feel that’s where the thinking and the beating heart of teachers is most alive. And it seems to be invigorating for everyone—me, included.

Leave a Reply

