The Cat’s Outta the Bag . . .

(c) Copyright 2012 D.A. Wagner - http://dawagner.com

. . . and the book’s out in the world! Yes, from seed idea to development in classrooms to umpteen drafts and revisions, What Readers Really Do is finally out and available through Heinemann, amazon and other online booksellers. Heinemann has posted a sample chapter, for those who want a taste. But here’s an example of one of the charts Dorothy Barnhouse and I provide in each of the chapters where we step into classrooms, which calls out the ways our practice has changed as we’ve rethought how we teach reading.

(c) Copyright 2012 by Dorothy Barnhouse and Vicki Vinton from What Readers Really Do (Portsmouth, NH: Heinemann)

Blog readers will undoubtedly recognize some of these points from previous posts. And I’ll be looking at the pros and cons of a common pre-reading activity in more depth next week. But for now I just wanted to share the news and invite any and all book readers to let me know what they think. (The cats, I fear, haven’t shown much interest, but the bag was quite a big hit.)

(c) Copyright 2012 D.A. Wagner - http://dawagner.com (with help from Blue & Cosi)

6 thoughts on “The Cat’s Outta the Bag . . .

  1. Congrats, Vicki! Can’t wait to read the whole book. Yours and Peter Johnston’s newest text are on my February reads list :). Charlotte shared her copy that you sent her with me and it was so kind of you to mention the work APS is doing in your acknowledgments!

    I love the chart you share in this blog post…it’s prompting me to do some thinking and reflecting on what I used to do as both a teacher and a coach and what I do/believe now. I’m thinking of the power of keeping these types of reflections over the course of a teaching career as a way of documenting learning…I think sometimes I get so caught up helping others reflect on their practiced that I forget to do the same :).

    • The work I did in Aurora really helped shape some of my thinking, and I am deeply grateful that I had the opportunity to work with such amazing people. And, yes, it’s so important to find that critical time to reflect, if only to remind ourselves that we keep on learning, too, which is always the big reward of this often challenging work.

  2. Just saw your post linked to Heinemann’s Twitter feed… I have chills from reading the “Rethinking How We Teach Reading” chart above. Thank you, thank you for addressing what we know in our hearts — that reading is an aesthetic, meaning-making experience and not a series of exercises. I am going to straight to amazon.com to order a copy!

    • I’m afraid I had a crazy week in schools and am only now coming up for air. But do know that your comment made my day! You’ll see in the book that Dorothy and I were inspired by Katie Wood Ray’s “What We Know By Heart,” which encourages teachers to develop curriculum from what they instinctively know about writing. We wanted to do something similar with reading and hopefully return it to the meaningful, soul-nourishing and aesthetically satisfying experience it can be. We’ll see who’s listening, but it’s wonderful to know that we’re not the only ones clamoring for this.

  3. I look forward to reading this book soon and sharing it with my colleagues! Do you know if an eBook version will be available?

    • Thanks, Melanie. To be honest, I’m not sure about an eBook version. I do know, though, that on the amazon page there’s a place just below the book cover where you can let Heinemann know that you’d like an eBook. But I’ll try to let everyone know if one becomes available at some point.

Leave a Reply

